The 2017 edition of the World Ski Championships

Will we be able to ski this season?
28 December 2016
Flashback of the XVIIIth edition of the GEM Altigliss Challenge
30 March 2017
Voir tous

The 2017 edition of the World Ski Championships

 

From 6th to 19th February, the Swiss resort of St. Moritz is hosting the 44th edition of the World Ski Championships. This competition, which takes place every two years, is a very important event for skiers: it is among other things that outsiders can often express themselves. It consists of several events: slalom, giant, super G, downhill, combined (one slalom and one downhill) and one mixed parallel per team.

The favorites of the 2017 edition are Swiss national Lara Gut in speed and giant, who runs at home, Lindsey Vonn for the downhill and Mikaela Shiffrin the queen of the slalom. Unfortunately, Lara Gut was injured on Monday (February 13th) during her combined slalom training session. Her season therefore stops there. For men, the highly expected skiers are the Austrian Marcel Hirscher and Henrik Kristoffersen in slalom and giant. As well as Kjetil Jansrud, Dominik Paris, Peter Fill and Beat Feuz for the speed events.

On the French side, we can count on Tessa Worley in giant, currently first in the World Cup discipline. We are also looking forward to the performances of Alexis Pinturault in slalom and giant and Julien Lizeroux in slalom. This year, the French team wants to do better than in 2015 and bring 5 medals to France.

 

The results of the weekend of 11th-12th  February

Downhill: without any surprise, the Swiss Beat Feuz dominates the descent at home before the Canadian Erick Guay who had previously won the Super G a few days before. In the women’s competition, Ilka Stuhec beat the surprising Austrian Stephanie Venier and the other favorite, the American rider Lindsey Vonn, bronze medalist.

 

 

Beat Feuz very happy after his victory in downhill in Saint-Moritz

 

The results of Monday 13th February

Combined: ranked 30th in the descent of the combined, the Swiss Lucas Aerni managed to take the lead and keep it to the end for 1 small hundredth ahead of Marcel Hirscher. Small disappointment on the French side with Alexis Pinturault who only ranks in the 10th place, while he won the crystal globe in combined this year.

Lucas Aerni won a surprise victory

 

The results of Tuesday 14th February

Team Event: France won the gold medal thanks to the achievement realized by Adeline Baud Mugnier, Mathieu Faivre, Tessa Worley and Alexis Pinturault. The French team is ahead of Slovakia and Sweden.

The French on the podium in St. Moritz

The results of Friday 15th February

Giant: the French woman Tessa Worley won today and for the second time in her career the gold medal in women’s giant during the world ski championships. She is ahead of Mikaela Shiffrin and Sofia Goggia. Thanks to this victory, she confirms a little more her place among the leaders of the discipline.

Tessa Worley on the podium in St-Moritz

The results of Friday 17th February

Giant: the Austrian Marcel Hirscher became world champion in giant slalom for the first time in his career, ahead of Roland Leitinger and Leif Kristian Haugen. Unfortunately, Alexis Pinturault only ranks in 7th place.

Marcel Hirscher on the podium with Roland Leitinger and Leif Kristian Haugen

The results of Saturday 18th February

Slalom: the American Mikaela Shiffrin became world champion in slalom for the third consecutive time after Schladming 2013 and Beaver Creek 2015. She is undoubtedly “The Queen of slalom”. The Swiss Wendy Holdener is second ant the Swedish Frida Hansdotter is thrid.

Mikaela Shiffrin surronded by Wendy Holdener and Frida Hansdotter after their victory

The results of Sunday 19th February

Slalom: Marcel Hirscher won his second gold medal. He achieved the performance of winning both the gold medal in slalom and giant in the same championship. His compatriot Manuel Feller comes in second place and the German Felix Neureuther in third place.

Manuel Feller, Marcel Hirscher and Felix Neureuther on the podium

The record of the World Championships

After more than ten days of competition, it is time to take stock of this 2017 edition of the world ski championships: Austria won a total of 9 medals (3 gold, 4 silver, 2 bronze), Switzerland 7 medals (3 gold, 2 silver, 2 bronze) and France 2 medals (2 gold). These results somewhat disappointing for the French team are explained by the lack of medals on the male side. But the season is not over, they are still victories to win for the French skiers!

L’édition 2017 des Championnats du monde de ski

Va-t-on pouvoir skier cette saison ?
28 décembre 2016
Voir tous

L’édition 2017 des Championnats du monde de ski

Du 6 au 19 Février, la station suisse de Saint Moritz accueille la 44ème édition des Championnats du monde de ski. Cette compétition qui a lieu tous les deux ans est un évènement très important pour les skieurs : c’est entre autres là que les outsiders peuvent souvent s’exprimer. Elle se compose de plusieurs épreuves : slalom, géant, super G, descente, combiné (une manche de slalom et une descente) et un parallèle mixte par équipe.

Les favoris de cette édition 2017 sont la suissesse Lara Gut en vitesse et en géant, qui court chez elle, Lindsey Vonn pour la descente et Mikaela Shiffrin la reine du slalom. Malheureusement, Lara Gut s’est blessée lundi 13 Février pendant sa séance d’entrainement du slalom du combiné. Sa saison s’arrête donc là.

Pour les hommes, les skieurs très attendus sont l’autrichien Marcel Hirscher et Henrik Kristoffersen en slalom et en géant. Ainsi que Kjetil Jansrud, Dominik Paris, Peter Fill ou encore Beat Feuz pour les épreuves de vitesse.

Côté français, nous pourrons compter sur Tessa Worley en Géant, actuellement première dans le classement de la discipline de la Coupe du monde. On attend aussi avec impatience les performances d’Alexis Pinturault en slalom et en géant et de Julien Lizeroux en slalom. Cette année, l’équipe de France veut faire mieux qu’en 2015 et rapporter 5 médailles à la France.

Les résultats du week-end du 11-12 Février

Descente : c’est sans réelle surprise que le suisse Beat Feuz domine la descente chez lui devant le canadien Erick Guay qui avait déjà remporté le Super G quelques jours avant. Chez les filles c’est Ilka Stuhec qui s’impose devant la surprenante autrichienne Stephanie Venier et l’autre favorite, l’Américaine Lindsey Vonn, médaillée de bronze.

Beat Feuz heureux après sa victoire en descente à Saint-Moritz

 

Les résultats du lundi 13 Février
Combiné : classé 30ème lors de la descente du combiné, le suisse Lucas Aerni a réussi à prendre la tête et à la conserver jusqu’au bout pour 1 petit centième devant Marcel Hirscher. Petite déception côté français avec Pinturault qui ne se classe qu’à la 10ème place, alors qu’il a remporté le globe de cristal en combiné cette année.

Luca Aerni a remporté une victoire surprise

Les résultats du mardi 14 Février

Epreuve mixte par équipe (ou Team Event) : la France est en or grâce à l’exploit réalisé par Adeline Baud Mugnier, Mathieu Faivre, Tessa Worley et Alexis Pinturault. L’équipe de France devance la Slovaquie et la Suède.

Les français sur le podium à Saint-Moritz

Les résultats du jeudi 16 Février
Géant : la française Tessa Worley a remporté aujourd’hui et pour la deuxième fois de sa carrière la médaille d’or en géant féminin lors des championnats du monde de ski. Elle devance Mikaela Shiffrin et Sofia Goggia. Grâce à cette victoire, elle confirme un peu plus sa place parmi les leaders de la discipline.

 

Tessa Worley sur le podium de Saint-Moritz

 

Les résultats du vendredi 17 Février

Géant : l’autrichien Marcel Hirscher est devenu champion du monde de slalom géant pour la première fois de sa carrière, en devançant Roland Leitinger et Leif Kristian Haugen. Malheureusement, Alexis Pinturault ne se classe qu’à la 7ème place.

Marcel Hirscher sur le podium avec Roland Leitinger et Leif Kristian Haugen

Les résultats du samedi 18 Février

Slalom : l’américaine Mikaela Shiffrin devient pour la troisième fois consécutive championne du monde du slalom, après Schladming 2013 et Beaver Creek 2015. Elle est incontestablement « La reine du slalom ». La suissesse Wendy Holdener se classe en deuxième position devant la suédoise Frida Hansdotter.

Mikaela Shiffrin entourrée de Wendy Holdener et de Frida Hansdotter après leur victoire

Les résultats du dimanche 19 Février

Slalom : Marcel Hirscher décroche sa deuxième médaille d’or après celle remporté en géant.  Il réalise l’exploit de décrocher à la fois la médaille d’or en slalom et en géant dans un même championnat depuis 1996. Son compatriote Manuel Feller arrive à la deuxième place et l’allemand Felix Neureuther à la troisième place.

Manuel Feller, Marcel Hirscher et Felix Neureuther sur le podium

Le bilan des Championnats du monde

Après plus de dix jours de compétition, il est temps de faire le bilan de cette édition 2017 des championnats du monde de ski : l’Autriche a remporté au total 9 médailles (3 en or, 4 en argent, 2 en bronze), la Suisse 7 médailles (3 en or, 2 en argent, 2 en bronze) et la France 2 médailles (2 en or). Ces résultats un peu décevants pour l’équipe de France s’expliquent par le manque de médailles du côté masculin. Mais la saison n’est pas finie, ils restent encore des victoires à remporter pour les skieurs et skieuses français !